Public holidays 2020/2021

There are a maximum of 11 public holidays in New Zealand of national, religious, or cultural significance. While these are around the same time each year, the observed date varies.

To help employers prepare in advance and avoid business disruption, here’s a breakdown of public holidays for 2020 and 2021:                                               

Public holiday

Observed date 2020

Observed date 2021

New Year's Day

Wednesday 1 January

Friday 1 January

Day after New Year's Day

Thursday 2 January

Saturday 2 January or Monday 4 January

Waitangi Day

Thursday 6 February

Saturday 6 February or Monday 8 February

Good Friday

Friday 10 April

Friday 2 April

Easter Monday

Monday 13 April

Monday 5 April


Saturday 25 April or Monday 27 April

Sunday 25 April or Monday 26 April

Queen's Birthday

Monday 1 June

 Monday 7 June

Labour Day

Monday 26 October

 Monday 25 October

Christmas Day

Friday 25 December

Saturday 25 December or Monday 27 December

Boxing Day

Saturday 26 December or Monday 28 December

Sunday 26 December or Tuesday 28 December


Province anniversary

Date observed 2020

Date observed 2021


Monday 27 January

Monday 1 February


Monday 9 March

Monday 8 March

Hawke's Bay

Friday 23 October

Friday 22 October


Monday 20 January

Monday 25 January


Monday 2 November

Monday 1 November


Monday 3 February

Monday 1 February


Friday 13 November

Friday 12 November

Canterbury (South)

Monday 28 September

Monday 27 September


Monday 30 November

Monday 29 November


Monday 23 March

Monday 22 March


Tuesday 14 April

Tuesday 6 April

For more information about annual leave entitlements and a guide for employers, click here.

Alternatively, for further advice about how to prepare for public holidays speak to one of our consultants. Call (03) 366 4034 or email



Back to Articles